

PROTOCOL TO AMEND ASEAN AGREEMENTS

The Governments of Brunei **Darussalam**, the Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations ("ASEAN");

NOTING the Agreement on the Recognition of Domestic Driving Licences Issued by ASEAN Countries signed in Kuala Lumpur on 9 July 1985; the ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement signed in Manila on 24 June 1986; the Agreement on the Preferential Shortlisting of ASEAN Contractors signed in Jakarta on 20 October 1986; the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Intellectual Property Cooperation signed in Bangkok on 15 December **1995**; and the Protocol on Dispute Settlement Mechanism signed in Manila on 20 November 1996;

DESIRING to make provision for accession of new Members to the above Agreements and Protocol;

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS :

ARTICLE 1

A provision reading as "New Members of ASEAN shall accede to this Agreement on terms and conditions consistent with it and which have been agreed between them and the existing Members of ASEAN." be inserted as follows:

- (a) Article 10A in the Agreement on the Recognition of Domestic Driving Licences Issued by ASEAN Countries;
- (b) Paragraph 3A of Article 3 in the ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement;
- (c) Article 6 in the Agreement on the Preferential Shortlisting of ASEAN Contractors; and
- (d) Paragraph 6 of Article 8 in the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Intellectual Property Cooperation.

ARTICLE 2

A provision reading as **"New** Members of ASEAN shall accede to this Protocol on terms and conditions consistent with it and which have been agreed between them and the existing Members of ASEAN." be inserted as paragraph 3 of Article 12 in the Protocol on Dispute Settlement Mechanism.

ARTICLE 3

Paragraph 4 of Article 3 in the ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement shall be amended by substituting the words "signature or ratification" by the expression "signature, ratification or accession".

ARTICLE 4

This Protocol shall enter into force upon signature of all the authorised Ministers from the existing ASEAN Member States.

This Protocol shall be deposited with the Secretary-General of ASEAN, who shall promptly furnish a certified copy thereof to each ASEAN Member State.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorised by their respective **Governments**, have signed this Protocol.

DONE at Subang Jaya, Malaysia, on the Twenty-Third day of July in the year One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-Seven.

For the Government of Brunei Darussalam

KJ.

H.R.H. PRINCE MOHAMED BOLKIAH Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Republic of Indonesia

ALI ALATAS Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Government of Malaysia

DATO' SERI ABDULLAH HAJI AHMAD BADAWI Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Republic of the Philippines :

Mu 2 IINGO L. SKAZON, JR.

Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Republic of Singapore

6 hu

PROFESSOR S. JAYAKUMAR Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Kingdom of Thailand CHUAB CHAIYASAN

Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Government of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam

NGUYEN MANH CAM Minister of Foreign Affairs